SAA/Aesculus is applying for Mentor
Usual Character Name: Thet Raytor
BYOND Username: SAAesculus
Recommended by (if applicable): Marquesas, SgtBriar
Times Available: Varies a lot, + it'd be in the wrong timezone and everything so I'm just gonna give a non-answer.

Reason for Application + Game Experience (300 word minimum): The reason I am applying for mentor is so that I will have the ability to help new players who are learning the game, as well as being able to use my knowledge to contribute to the community. When I started playing, there was no mentor system, and every new player had to learn the game and deal with the learning curve more or less on their own. Personally, the only help I got was a space drunk dude who ended up disappearing sooner or later, and I ended up failing to figure out how to change hands until the next round. Noone should have to deal with that sort of confusion in trying to have fun in a game, and I'd like to help any players, new or old, get the help they need to have fun, because I believe that would be beneficial for everyone and everything. Also a bunch of people bugged me to go apply for mentor already, so I guess that's also a reason for application?

As for game experience, I am pretty knowledgable in the more secret-ey, such as telescience and chemistry areas of the game, having solo'd the solarium. I also know how to make 10/14 chems that are listed under secret chems on the wiki, making me a solid upper-mid-tier chemnerd. However, I understand that such knowledge doesn't usually translate to actual game mechanics knowledge, how to be a good player, how to help out, how to have fun, and so on.