Mentor Application - SgtManGuy/ What/ Pigeon
Usual character name: Shift Norax
BYOND username: SgtManGuy
Discord username (if you are on our discord): what7431 / Pigeon
Recommended by (if applicable): N/A
Goon servers you play: 3, 4. 

Reason for application + game experience (300 word minimum):
I've been playing on Goonstation for a few years (Since 2021, at least) and have been playing Space Station 13 for even longer. I've been able to contribute and help here and there with sprites and the sort and I've grown very fond of this particular community. I'd like to be able to help out more after seeing the influx of new players and I am hoping that becoming a mentor would allow that, as I was helped quite a bit when I was starting out by mentors. Space Station 13 is a very involved game and it's far more engaging to be able to ask direct questions and be guided towards potential solutions rather than just staring at a wiki. I'm generally familiar with most major code bases of Space Station 13, so I am aware of the major differences in mechanics between them and Goonstation. What sets Goonstation apart, in my eyes, is the sense of discovery that it brings even to those who have played the game a great deal elsewhere; I'd like to be able to help others discover just how many things are unique here.

Civilian
I've played a great deal of, and am very familiar with many of the civilian roles. I am familiar with of the recipes and combinations available to chef and bartender, and the synergy they have with both cargo and botany. I have also spent a good amount of time with chaplain and staff assistant, which both frequently rely on making your own fun - I have many suggestions and ideas for players who are feeling a bit aimless in those roles. I have a surface level understanding of botany and it's mutations though I am lacking an in-depth knowledge of splicing.

Engineering