babayetu83/discount dan hos app
Usual character name: Discount Dan, Borg Co. Operative
BYOND username: babayetu83
Discord username (if you are on our discord): Grink#5210
Recommended by (if applicable): n/a
Goon servers you play: Goon1

Reason for application: I decided I've wanted to apply to have HOS/NTSC available full time since I enjoy playing them on Fridays.

Security experience (300 word minimum): For a long while I really did not like playing as, or with security. During the first few years I started playing on goon, I loathed security. My view then was that they were just the fun police. I had too much fun being a nuisance and messing around with people, and as such I would have frequent encounters with security. But since I've started playing again around the end of last year and throughout this year, I had a massive perspective shift.

This shift was brought about by a few key things. I think I'm in a rather unique position to say as a player, that I've witnessed a significant culture shift. So as things have obviously changed, I think my playstyle has definitely changed too. Gone are the days of executing antagonists on the spot. Instead, we just cart them away to the brig and take their toys away. I find that to be a far more interesting dynamic than just instantly offing somebody because they were caught out at the wrong place at the wrong time.

Instead, the role and position of security feels like they are the opposite of antags in a way. It was obvious before, the majority of antag objectives involve killing, whereas a security officer is expected to de-escalate situations and arbitrate when interpersonal issues come to a head. Which is pretty often. But now, security feels like they are meant to, in a way, help guide and control the flow of a round. As stated above, just executing antagonists on the spot is detrimental to this idea, and I understand and have integrated this different logic and theory into my own gameplay.