Walter Whitman's Mentor App
Rainbow 
Usual character name: Walter Whitman
BYOND username: Eggpielord
Discord username (if you are on our discord): Wet Ants Guy (Eggman#7192)
Recommended by (if applicable): ---
Goon servers you play: Goon 1 bee

Reason for application + game experience (300 word minimum): After about half a year of passing a interest of becoming  mentor. But becoming concerned I wouldn’t be a good mentor due to not having a complete, in depth knowledge of all the jobs. I decided that I don’t need a portable wiki for a brain, and I finally feel comfortable applying to become a mentor!

My Whole Life Story
When I started playing SS13 in late 2020-early 2021, I started out my first round as a botanist on a disorientating map I still can’t recall. I was disoriented and overwhelmed as many new players tend to be, and in my confusion and a mild panic, shut the window and loaded up something else.
Though the concept and apparent freedom of the game would draw me back to the game over the next few days, and eventually led me to watching some out of date video tutorials that would eventually get me on my feet as a *semi* functional janitor and allowed me to explore the maps.

And in doing so, I was eventually led me to probably the most influential lizard in my SS13 playtime. The secass Kaz Lyndon, who taught me, the master thief “Johnathon Thieving Fleming” how to do pretty much anything gameplay or crime related, thieving was my middle name after all. Despite Kaz not being a mentor, their guidance and attitude towards the game had a lasting impact on how I treat new players and regulars alike. And turned my normally competitive mindset towards one that tries to be more considerate to other people’s rounds. Oh, and getting me into my first ban after I hacked the armory with his guidance  it's okay, he'll be up again before you know it  

I think that a friendly first face is what got me to stick with the game at all.

Experiences With New Players