Complaint Complaint, flappybat, main server, 12/2 @12:10 PM CST
Title: Title your thread with the admin's name, the server, and the date + time (if applicable). This means we can check logs to see exactly what went on.

Admin: Flappybat

Server: Main
Date + time: Appx 12:10 PM CST
Synopsis: I was trying to save a life as a medical doctor, my patient kept running around with active radiation poisoning or a heart condition or something serious. I said to them 'stop moving retard' or something along those lines, including that word. A bit rusty (been awhile since i played) and spaced that that was against TOS.
Flappybat pings me with 'don't use the word retard'. I respond with some wisecrack about ableism and went back to healing my patient, NOT using the word again, having been reminded that it's against TOS.

I then received a WEEK ban, with the reason 'When I tell you to do something I'm not asking for you to joke or sass me about it'

My issue with this is thus: The ban reason seems to be more about an ego trip/overly punitive action, i.e. 'do what I tell you and don't joke about it' than a legitimate reason. The reminder that that was a prohibited word was enough for me to not use it and stay within the bounds of TOS. Me responding with a not-disrespectful offhand joke to a mod should not be a reason for a 7 day ban. 
We're all part of the same community. Some enjoy jokes and banter, some don't. I'd have been fine with a ban if i continued to violate the rules and used that word again, but a ban for responding jokingly to a mod seems tyrannical, along the lines of 'BE SUBSERVIANT OR GET BANNED'

If this is appropriate behavior for mods nowadays, please let me know so that I may go to another server.