Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 1 Average
[PR] Alphabetises letter component in book/vendor
Information 
PULL REQUEST DETAILS

[cleanliness]
About the PR
~~Adds a 1 second delay to mechcomp teleporters activating. This is my first time introducing a `SPAWN_DBG` so hopefully it's in the right spot.~~

This PR moves the letter display's position in the mechcomp book and vendor under the LED component because as a general rule both of those are alphabetised.

Why's this needed?
Helps peeps find stuff easier

PULL REQUEST DETAILS
Okay. I think teleport components shouldn't have a delay.
A delay would limit their usefulness in other mechcomp contraptions that aren't deathtraps. Personally I see no issue here, it's not like those things are invisible and you have no way to avoid them.
And imo to be consistent, you'd need to add a delay to hand tele portals aswell. People will always run into them without thinking much, so they're as deadly as mechcomp teleporters
i don't think hand tele portals should be subject to similar changes - they are limited in their lifetime, triggered directly by another player, and they they also have a far greater visibility than the mechcomp version (they have a huge sprite, stay on top of clutter, are bright blue and emit light)

EDIT : seconding my post on the github thread i think it would be good if this was converted to action bar timer, and the delay period actually only needs to be some fraction of a second (prob like 0.1-0.5s) for the intended effect i think
I agree that this mostly just limits their usefulness in contraptions. Players also aren't smart and will probably give up in half a second and assume the teleporters are just broken.
(02-18-2021, 09:27 AM)TTerc Wrote: A delay would limit their usefulness in other mechcomp contraptions that aren't deathtraps. Personally I see no issue here, it's not like those things are invisible and you have no way to avoid them.