Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4.5 Average
Recent TEG Changes
Lightbulb 
So, lets talk about the recent TEG changes.

I'm a engineer nerd, who mostly plays RPO, with a bit of RP1.  The standard maps are... we play every map on RPO, really, and so we see a lot of engines.

The recent engine changes, I am not 100% certain what they were supposed to do, but they have mostly left me frustrated, baffled, stuck in the engine compartment for 2 hours, and having to rely on the solars just to keep the lights on.

Hellburns are... strongly discouraged on RP, because, well, they kill everyone, and folks that can do a 2 hour hellburn without killing the station (on non-horizon maps) are rightly celebrated.  

The recent changes (mostly circulators) have left me... extremely frustrated.  I've spoken with Azrun fairly extensively, and reasonably understand the reasons for things changing.  

I Have spent 10-20 hours of late trying to make basic charburns work.  The circulator seems to brick in most configurations I've tried.  Hellburns work perfectly fine, but any low heat, medium pressure systems shit the bed on most maps (Horizon works, mostly, since there's an aux both before and after the engine).  I've had engines that flux constantly between 40kw and 400kw (1 flick per second), engine setups that should work just straight not making any power, and lots of time fiddling with the APC on rounds where there are no AI's and I've forgotten to set the solars to make it work.

I really, really love engineering.  But these changes have felt not fully tested, and not tested on the RP map listing.  I guess we're supposed to be the testers, but we're receving no documentation.  I've got a list of engine serial numbers, and no idea if they are supposed to indicate anything to me.  I guess we're supposed to put new kinds of fluids in, but trying to source most chems as engineering is.. tricky, when you're having to spent so much time just trying to keep the lights on.