Couturier's Mentor Application
Usual character name: Listel A. Sheerfield
BYOND username: Couturier
Recommended by (if applicable): Zafh, TheCannonMan
Goon servers you play: Goonstations 1 and 2

Reason for Application + Game Experience (300 word minimum):

Hello,

Emma Yorkshire (my bestie!) vaguely suggested that I apply for mentor in November of 2018, but as I was starting a new job and had other responsibilities to consider, I delayed a decision. I have been dithering about considering this for eight months or longer. I tend to play a round or two per evening and on the weekends, but I have noticed a drop in mentors as well as an increase in the server population with many new faces. I mentioned this to Zafh recently and they suggested that I apply for mentor. I have been considering this for a few weeks as well before finally deciding to apply. Appropriately at the end of the month.

I started playing Goonstation on and off since 2012 under a different CKEY that I no longer use due to personal reasons, but never really became a regular until 2016 or so. I feel like Goonstation is a very welcoming community, with high diversity and the players generally respect and are kind to each other out of the game, while gleefully murdering each other in game.

I believe that I can contribute much in terms of both knowledge and as part of a cultural committee of mentors that new players look to for help and acclimation. Helping new players or interested players to learn things is its own reward and I think it makes everyone smile when you teach someone something and they understand it and murder you with it the very next round to demonstrate that they can do it on their own.