Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
[Feature]Atmospherics Analyzer Distance Upgrade
Partially in response to a comment in this thread by Faceplant, I decided to make an upgraded Atmospherics Analyzer that can scan from a distance.

The upgrade functions essentially the same way as the Health Analyzer cartridge upgrade system. The only difference is that I didn't include the option to disable the upgrade function as the Health Analyzer does, I always thought this was pointless, plus for the atmos analyzer it would get in the way of clicking it in hand to take a reading of the tile you're standing on. I basically just stole that code for the cartridge interacting with the health analyzer for the atmos upgrade and moved it into a method to be used for both. Also, it will only analyze Turf from a distance, not the contents of objects like gas canisters.

Attached are the images for the upgraded analyzer and cartridge included in the pull request that I made. I'm no artist and just did them real quick, so I'm not particularly attached to them if someone wants to try making them better looking.

[Image: CNI28dy.png]
[Image: dHwsD5j.png]

https://github.com/goonstation/goonstati...r?expand=1
Really good patch! Always thought it was weird that you had to subject yourself to dodgy atmos to see what it was. Seemed redundant
I would rather the new proc you defined be on a subclass of devices rather than on all devices. I could do the map replacing fine, so something like /obj/item/device/analyzer/atmospheric and /obj/item/device/analyzer/healthanalyzer
Yeah I like that, move the proc and analyzer/cartridge objects into a new class. I was trying to make my changes to existing code as minimal as possible so I didn't do any renaming or whatever which would've been my preference. I can make that change pretty easily later tonight maybe.