Posts: 466
Threads: 68
Joined: Sep 2015
BYOND Username: protowizard
09-24-2018, 02:51 PM
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2018, 02:51 PM by locusts. Edited 1 time in total.)
Hello, this just happened to me and it was very odd. I set up and calibrated the teleporter as normal, and attempted to teleport in some of the artifacts that were recently added to the station level. I was successful for about 3, then all of a sudden I got a wrong Z level error. I quadruple checked against my offsets in case it was me that was wrong, but the entire offset had changed, as I found out when I recalibrated it. I did it again only for the offsets to change yet again.
The only unusual thing that occurred while teleporting was that some branching coral was teleported in. It couldn't be moved or teleported away, and slowed you down while walking over it as with normal coral.
Posts: 349
Threads: 13
Joined: May 2016
BYOND Username: Triacontakai
(09-24-2018, 02:51 PM)locusts Wrote: Hello, this just happened to me and it was very odd. I set up and calibrated the teleporter as normal, and attempted to teleport in some of the artifacts that were recently added to the station level. I was successful for about 3, then all of a sudden I got a wrong Z level error. I quadruple checked against my offsets in case it was me that was wrong, but the entire offset had changed, as I found out when I recalibrated it. I did it again only for the offsets to change yet again.
The only unusual thing that occurred while teleporting was that some branching coral was teleported in. It couldn't be moved or teleported away, and slowed you down while walking over it as with normal coral.
Feature, teleporter offsets have a tiny chance of changing every teleport (followed by a message in chat). You probably just got really unlucky
That coral thing sounds like a bug though.
Posts: 466
Threads: 68
Joined: Sep 2015
BYOND Username: protowizard
Is that a new thing? I've used the teleporter a LOT and never had it change coordinates before. I also wasn't receiving any messages indicating it had changed.
Posts: 807
Threads: 47
Joined: Mar 2015
BYOND Username: Recusor
I havent heard of that either, but I also remember having something happen with the teleport calibration seemingly changing. Whats the message in chat look like Triacontakai?
Posts: 480
Threads: 35
Joined: Jun 2016
BYOND Username: Adhara in Space
it says something about circuit boards popping and frying. its not a bug i dont think?
Posts: 349
Threads: 13
Joined: May 2016
BYOND Username: Triacontakai
(09-25-2018, 07:14 AM)Wraithcraft Wrote: it says something about circuit boards popping and frying. its not a bug i dont think?
Yeah, should be something like that. I think you also need to be able to see the telepad to get the message.
Posts: 624
Threads: 46
Joined: Jun 2013
Code:
if((prob(2) && prob(2)) || ((usr.ckey in Dorks) && prob(10)))
usr.visible_message("<span style=\"color:red\">The console emits a loud pop and an acrid smell fills the air!</span>")
XSUBTRACT = rand(0,100)
YSUBTRACT = rand(0,100)
ZSUBTRACT = rand(0,world.maxz)
Feature.
Posts: 1,584
Threads: 151
Joined: Jun 2016
BYOND Username: Lady Birb
Character Name: Allie Allison
Posts: 480
Threads: 35
Joined: Jun 2016
BYOND Username: Adhara in Space
`usr.ckey in Dorks` oh no
Posts: 2,041
Threads: 65
Joined: Nov 2014
BYOND Username: Zewaka
Character Name: Shitty Bill Jr.
(09-25-2018, 04:19 PM)Wraithcraft Wrote: `usr.ckey in Dorks` oh no
thats gone
Posts: 1,032
Threads: 310
Joined: Oct 2013
remove this "feature", imo, it does nothing to improve the game
Posts: 176
Threads: 14
Joined: Sep 2012
(09-26-2018, 01:01 AM)Berrik Wrote: remove this "feature", imo, it does nothing to improve the game
It makes the teleporter harder to use. It's already very powerful, so a minute of recalibrating occasionally is fine imo. If anything 1 in 2500 is too low a probability.
Posts: 624
Threads: 46
Joined: Jun 2013
10-05-2018, 08:24 AM
(This post was last modified: 10-05-2018, 08:24 AM by Firebarrage. Edited 1 time in total.)
How about setting it to change with probability 0.0005x , where x is the number of times it has been used since an offset change. The longer you use it, the more likely they change. The number I chose here means that you'll get ~50 teleports before a change on average.